Mon 9°C

The first "vele"

Among the very few documents concerning the transparencies that have been preserved, there was until a few years ago (today it is lost) a sheet indicating the order in which the first ten "transparent doors", then rightly called "luminous arches", were to be placed. Since the owners of the houses are indicated (who had also paid for the execution of the works) and not the streets (nor - much less - the house numbers, then non-existent), it is not easy to understand exactly where they were, even considering the demolitions and new buildings that have taken place in the center of the village. Due to the extraordinary display of some of the transparency in the Art Museum in the spring of 2012, it was possible to display the oldest preserved map (from the late nineteenth century), with an indication of the probable locations.
Much more important is the identification of the iconographic theme, which shows how it was never a Way of the Cross, for the presence of some other subjects, especially dedicated to Mary, and the absence of other fundamentals. Even the order in which they were placed did not respect the chronology of the evangelical episodes.
From the first centenary of 1898, this logical order was no longer respected, justifying the recombinations of the great arches, the erroneous substitutions and the intrusions of new subjects with the need to expand the series, or to replace the "doors" that had disappeared. This lightness in dealing with the originality of the lenses and their cultured nature, continued until the second centenary, when an attempt was made to remedy in part the damage done, without however eliminating the "new" but inconsistent "doors", now part of the tradition.

Ancient order of the "doors"

In italics the missing works. Door 4 had only one side being placed transversely to the procession. The first title refers to the subject on the outward journey, while the second refers to the subject on the return journey.

Door 1: Poster, The Deposition of the Cross

Door 2: The washing of the feet, Jesus stripped to crucify him

Door 3: Christ's farewell from Mary, Jesus Fallen helped by the Cyrenean

Door 4: Prayer in the Garden

Door 5: The flagellation at the column, The encounter with the Mother

Door 6: The coronation of thorns, The ecce Homo

Door 7: The death sentence, The denial of St. Peter's

Door 8: Jesus consoles weeping women, John warns Mary

Door 9: The Crucifixion, Betrayal and Capture of Christ

Door 10: Jesus placed in the tomb, Jesus wakes the apostles in the garden

Modern order of doors

Also in this case the first title refers to the subject on the outward journey, while the second refers to the subject on the return journey.

Door 1: The Last Supper (copy of Gilardi da Anastasio), The Three Maries (Gilardi da Anastasio)

Door 2: The washing of the feet

Door 3: Pilate and L'ecce Homo

Door 4: (The denial of St. Peter) in the Praetorium, Betrayal and capture of Christ

Door 5: (The death sentence) Jesus from Herod, The Crucifixion

Door 6: The flagellation at the column, The encounter with the Mother

Door 7: The coronation of thorns, Jesus stripped and watered with gall

Door 8: Prayer in the Garden, Veronica (Jesus consoles women)?

Door 9: Mary at the Sepulchre (Cassinari 1979), The Division of Clothing (Cassinari 1979)

Door 10: Entry into Jerusalem (Realini 1969), The Resurrection (Realini 1969)

Door 11: Christ in the Sepulchre (Anastasius 1898), Christ laid (Anastasius 1898)

dim. 29°C

Les premières voiles

Les très rares documents dont nous disposons concernant les transparents comprenaient il y a quelques années encore une feuille (aujourd'hui perdue) qui indiquait l'ordre dans lequel devaient être placées les dix premières « portes transparentes » qu'on désignait alors sous le nom d'« arcs lumineux ». Vu qu'on y indiquait les propriétaires des maisons (qui avaient aussi payé la réalisation des ouvrages) contre lesquelles elles étaient posées, et non les rues (ni d'ailleurs les numéros qui n'existaient pas à l'époque), il est difficile d'identifier leurs emplacements, d'autant plus qu'il faut tenir compte des démolitions et des nouvelles constructions réalisées au centre du bourg. À l'occasion d'une exposition extraordinaire de certains Transparents au Musée d'art au printemps 2012, on a pu présenter la carte la plus ancienne dont nous disposons (datant de la fin du XIX e siècle), indiquant les emplacements probables (on y indique en blanc les trois lieux dont on est certain).

Mais l'identification du thème iconographique, qui démontre qu'il ne s'est jamais agi d'un Chemin de Croix, en raison de la présence d'autres personnages, surtout dédiés à Marie, et l'absence d'autres thèmes fondamentaux, est bien plus importante. Par ailleurs, l'ordre dans lequel ils étaient placés ne respectait pas la chronologie des épisodes évangéliques.

À partir du premier centenaire de 1898, cet ordre logique n'a plus été respecté, et l'on justifia les recombinaisons des grands arcs, les remplacements erronés et les ingérences de nouveaux sujets par la nécessité d'agrandir la série ou de remplacer les « portes » disparues. Cette légèreté face à l'originalité des transparents et à leur nature cultivée, s'est poursuivie jusqu'au deuxième centenaire, lorsqu'on essaya de remédier en partie aux dommages occasionnés, sans toutefois éliminer les « nouvelles » « portes » qui font désormais partie de la tradition malgré leur incohérence.

Ancien ordre des "portes"

En italique, les œuvres manquantes. La porte 4 n'avait qu'un seul côté placé transversalement à la procession. Le premier titre se réfère au sujet du voyage aller, tandis que le second se réfère au sujet du voyage retour.

Porte 1 : Affiche, La Déposition de la Croix

Porte 2 : Le lavement des pieds, Jésus s'est dépouillé pour le crucifier

Porte 3 : L'adieu du Christ de Marie, Jésus est tombé aidé par le Cyrénéen.

Porte 4 : Prière au jardin

Porte 5 : La flagellation à la colonne, La rencontre avec la Mère

Porte 6 : Le couronnement des épines, L'ecce Homo

Porte 7 : La condamnation à mort, Le déni de l'église Saint-Pierre

Porte 8 : Jésus console les femmes en pleurs, Jean avertit Marie

Porte 9 : La crucifixion, la trahison et la capture du Christ

Porte 10 : Jésus placé dans le tombeau, Jésus réveille les apôtres dans le jardin

Ordre moderne des portes

Dans ce cas également, le premier titre se réfère au sujet lors du voyage aller, tandis que le second se réfère au sujet lors du voyage retour.

Porte 1 : La Cène (copie de Gilardi da Anastasio), Les Trois Maries (Gilardi da Anastasio)

Porte 2 : Le lavage des pieds

Porte 3 : Pilate et L'ecce Homo

Porte 4 : (Le reniement de saint Pierre) dans le prétoire, la trahison et la capture du Christ

Porte 5 : (La condamnation à mort) Jésus d'Hérode, la crucifixion

Porte 6 : La flagellation à la colonne, La rencontre avec la Mère

Porte 7 : Le couronnement des épines, Jésus dépouillé et arrosé de fiel

Porte 8 : Prière au jardin, Véronique (Jésus console les femmes) ?

Porte 9 : Marie au Sépulcre (Cassinari 1979), La Division du vêtement (Cassinari 1979)

Porte 10 : Entrée à Jérusalem (Realini 1969), La Résurrection (Realini 1969)

Porte 11 : Christ au sépulcre (Anastasius 1898), Christ couché (Anastasius 1898)