Mon 18°C

UNESCO candidature

Since 22.10.2014, the Processions of Holy Week in Mendrisio have been on the official list of candidates for recognition as a UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage, as officially announced by the Federal Council, which has approved an indicative list of eight Swiss traditions.
These will then be proposed to the UNESCO commission for inclusion in the representative list of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity in Switzerland.

The system for evaluating the individual dossiers of the eight official candidates will now have to follow the procedure that provides for the submission of an annual application for the attention of UNESCO experts.
The details of the order in which the candidates are to be presented are not yet available.

The inclusion by the federal authorities of the Easter event of Mendrisio, strongly linked to the tradition of the people of Mendrisio and the region, clearly boosts the pride of the Historical Processions Foundation, which has always been involved, with the competent municipal and cantonal offices, in the evaluation procedure.

The Historical Processions Foundation hopes that the many efforts made by many people to organise these events will be rewarded with such a prestigious international award. It would also like to underline that the specific peculiarity of the presence of Transparency is in fact the element that distinguishes these parades from the countless that take place all over the world on the occasion of Easter.

lun. 20°C

Candidature à l'UNESCO

Depuis le 22.10.2014, les processions de la Semaine Sainte à Mendrisio figurent sur la liste officielle des candidats à la reconnaissance du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'UNESCO, officiellement annoncée par le Conseil fédéral qui a approuvé une liste indicative de huit traditions suisses.
Celles-ci seront ensuite proposées à la commission UNESCO pour inscription sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'humanité en Suisse.

Le système d'évaluation des dossiers individuels des huit candidats officiels devra désormais suivre la procédure qui prévoit la présentation d'une demande annuelle à l'attention des experts de l'UNESCO.
Les détails de l'ordre dans lequel les candidats doivent être présentés ne sont pas encore disponibles.

L'inclusion par les autorités fédérales de l'événement pascal de Mendrisio, fortement lié à la tradition des habitants de Mendrisio et de la région, renforce clairement la fierté de la Fondation des processions historiques, qui a toujours été associée, avec les services municipaux et cantonaux compétents, à la procédure d'évaluation.

La Fondation des processions historiques souhaite que les nombreux efforts déployés par de nombreuses personnes pour organiser ces manifestations soient récompensés par un prix international aussi prestigieux et souligne que la particularité spécifique de la présence de la Transparence est en fait l'élément qui distingue ces défilés des innombrables qui ont lieu dans le monde entier à l'occasion de Pâques.