Thu 38°C

Map

The city of Mendrisio is located south of the Canton Ticino and is at the center of a triangle at the top of which are located the cities of Lugano, Como and Varese. Mendrisio has been a political centre since the Middle Ages and is the capital of the district of the same name. The development of Mendrisio was essentially due to two major works: the construction of the railway (nineteenth century) and the motorway (sixties). These two connections have included Mendrisio in the great network that connects northern and southern Europe, giving it a strategic position between the urban pole of Lugano, the cities of Como and Varese and the great metropolis of Milan with its international airport of Malpensa. Since then, the district has changed face, quickly becoming an important socio-economic reality, home to regional services, the Academy of Architecture and an emerging commercial and industrial center. The Historical Centre has a rich heritage of palaces and hidden treasures, which can be discovered by following the educational and cultural itinerary or by renting the audio guides at the regional tourism office.

Mendrisio, which today boasts the presence of a good number of wine cellars, now has about 15'500 inhabitants; its territory extends to the lake and also includes a large part of the two mountains that surround its borders: Monte Generoso and Monte San Giorgio. These two large mountain areas are highly appreciated by the local population and tourists, who offer a wide variety of excursions and unforgettable vantage points, including that of the summit of Monte Generoso at 1704 m / m, also accessible by the ancient rack railway that leaves from Capolago, from where you can admire one of the most beautiful views of the Alps and the Po Valley. Home to the Academy of Architecture and studios of famous architects, Mendrisio also houses the Theatre of Architecture, the Archaeological Park of Tremona, three important art museums, the Museum of Fossils of Monte San Giorgio (UNESCO WHS), the Baumgartner Gallery of Ferromodelling, a Museum of Sacred Art and the Museum of Transparency.

The calendar of exhibitions and events is also rich in traditional events. Among these, the most popular are: the Sagra del Borgo, Cantine Aperte, the Tappo alle Cantine and the Rassegna Gastronomica, which are ideal opportunities to experience the atmosphere of the place and taste local dishes and wines; the Fiera di San Martino and San Giuseppe, both linked to ancient traditions that are perpetuated over time; the Festa della Musica and the musical events organized at the Cave di Arzo, are instead younger events that are enjoying great success.

The population of Mendrisio has been able to keep alive the passion for many traditional events that are perpetuated from generation to generation and the Processions of Holy Week are the living testimony. These two processions, now officially nominated by the Confederation to be included in the representative list of intangible cultural heritage of UNESCO, are actively supported by the city of Mendrisio, which, with the Historical Processions Foundation, supports the organization.

Reaching Mendrisio is easy, the car parks are well signposted and from the two railway stations it only takes a few minutes to reach the historic centre on foot. Consult the map to choose the best route.

dim. 29°C

Plan

La ville de Mendrisio est située au sud du canton du Tessin et est au centre d'un triangle au sommet duquel se trouvent les villes de Lugano, Côme et Varèse. Mendrisio est un centre politique depuis le Moyen Age et est la capitale du district du même nom. Le développement de Mendrisio est essentiellement dû à deux grands travaux : la construction du chemin de fer (XIXe siècle) et de l'autoroute (années soixante). Ces deux liaisons ont inclus Mendrisio dans le grand réseau qui relie le nord et le sud de l'Europe, lui donnant une position stratégique entre le pôle urbain de Lugano, les villes de Côme et Varèse et la grande métropole de Milan avec son aéroport international Malpensa. Depuis lors, le quartier a changé de visage et est rapidement devenu une réalité socio-économique importante, abritant des services régionaux, l'Académie d'architecture et un centre commercial et industriel émergent. Le centre historique possède un riche patrimoine de palais et de trésors cachés, que l'on peut découvrir en suivant l'itinéraire éducatif et culturel ou en louant audioguides à l'office régional du tourisme.
Mendrisio, qui compte un bon nombre de caves à vin, compte environ 15'500 habitants; son territoire s'étend jusqu'au lac et comprend également une grande partie des deux montagnes qui entourent ses frontières: Monte Generoso et Monte San Giorgio. Ces deux grandes zones de montagne sont très appréciées par la population locale et les touristes, qui offrent une grande variété d'excursions et de points de vue inoubliables, y compris celle du sommet du Monte Generoso à 1704 m / m, également accessible par l'ancien train à crémaillère qui part de Capolago, d'où vous pourrez admirer une des plus belles vues des Alpes et la vallée du Po. Mendrisio abrite également le Théâtre d'architecture, le Parc archéologique de Tremona, trois musées d'art importants, le Musée des fossiles du Monte San Giorgio (UNESCO WHS), la Galerie Baumgartner de Ferromodelage, un Musée d'art sacré et le Musée de la transparence.

Le calendrier des expositions et des manifestations est également riche en événements traditionnels. Parmi celles-ci, les plus populaires sont : la Sagra del Borgo, la Cantine Aperte, le Tappo alle Cantine et la Rassegna Gastronomica, qui sont des occasions idéales pour découvrir l'atmosphère du lieu et goûter les plats et les vins locaux; la Fiera di San Martino et San Giuseppe, toutes deux liées aux traditions anciennes qui se perpétuent dans le temps ; la Festa della Musica et les événements musicaux organisés à la Cave di Arzo sont plutôt les événements les jeunes qui connaissent le grand succès.

La population de Mendrisio a su garder vivante la passion pour de nombreux événements traditionnels qui se perpétuent de génération en génération et les processions de la Semaine Sainte en sont le témoignage vivant. Ces deux processions, désormais officiellement désignées par la Confédération pour figurer sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l'UNESCO, sont activement soutenues par la ville de Mendrisio, qui, avec la Fondation des processions historiques, soutient l'organisation.

L'accès à Mendrisio est facile, les parkings sont bien signalisés et depuis les deux gares il ne faut que quelques minutes à pied pour rejoindre le centre historique. Consultez la carte pour choisir le meilleur itinéraire.