Visitor information


The Processions of the Holy Week take place every year in Mendrisio along the streets of the historic center,
on Thursday and Good Friday at 8:30 p.m.


In case of bad weather, a decision will be made on the event: Thursday at 4 p.m. and Friday at 2 p.m.

Grandstand
Book your seat

Infopoint
If you need information, come and visit us!

The itinerary

The Holy Week processions start from Piazza San Giovanni, follow the traditional intinerary through the streets of Mendrisio's old town, cross the main square and reach the Chiesa dei Cappuccini. From here they return to the church of San Giovanni.

The processions parade through the streets of the old town in both directions, so it is possible to see two passages on the same evening. Many people take the opportunity to move along the route and wait for the return in the direction of San Giovanni.

Getting to Mendrisio

The historic centre of Mendrisio can be easily reached thanks to two railway stations, Mendrisio and Mendrisio San Martino.
These connect Mendrisio daily to Lugano and the Swiss mainland, as well as to Milan and the rest of Italy. By car it can be reached from the north on the A2 in the direction of Chiasso and from the south in the direction of Lugano.

There are several parking possibilities: official parking spaces visible on the map and those organised and signposted by the Municipal Police. Parking spaces reserved for invalids are located in Via Lavizzari.

A free shuttle bus is available from the car parks of the Mendrisio swimming pools to easily reach the town centre. The shuttle bus runs from 7:15 p.m. to 8:45 p.m. in the direction of the centre and from 10:15 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. in the direction of the swimming pools, leaving from San Giovanni Church

Informations visiteurs


Les Processions de la Semaine Sainte ont lieu chaque année à Mendrisio dans les rues du centre historique,
le jeudi et le vendredi saint à 20h30.


En cas de mauvais temps, une décision sera prise quant à la tenue de l'événement, le jeudi à 16h00 et le vendredi à 14h00.


Tribune
Réservez votre siège

Infopoint
Si vous avez besoin d'informations, venez nous voir !

Le parcours

Les Processions de la Semaine Sainte se forment à partir de la Piazza San Giovanni, suivent le parcours traditionnel dans les rues de la vieille ville de Mendrisio, traversent la place principale et atteignent la Chiesa dei Cappuccini. De là, ils retournent à la Chiesa di San Giovanni.

La procession défile dans les rues de la vieille ville dans les deux sens, il est donc possible de voir deux passages le même soir. De nombreuses personnes en profitent pour se déplacer le long du parcours et attendent le retour en direction de San Giovanni.

Comment se rendre à Mendrisio

Le centre historique de Mendrisio est facilement accessible grâce à deux gares ferroviaires, Mendrisio et Mendrisio San Martino.
Elles relient quotidiennement Mendrisio à Lugano et à la Suisse continentale, ainsi qu'à Milan et au reste de l'Italie. En voiture, elle est accessible depuis le nord sur l'A2 en direction de Chiasso et depuis le sud en direction de Lugano.

Il existe plusieurs possibilités de stationnement : les parkings officiels visibles sur la carte et ceux organisés et signalés par la police municipale d'année en année. Les places de stationnement réservées aux handicapés se trouvent dans la Via Lavizzari.

Une navette gratuite est disponible depuis les parkings des piscines de Mendrisio pour rejoindre facilement le centre ville. La navette circule de 19h15 à 20h45 en direction du centre et de 22h15 à 23h00 en direction des piscines, en partant du rond-point de l'Eglise San Giovanni.