Thu 38°C

Oratory of the Madonna delle Grazie

When the current art museum was home to the hospice for the poor and the sick, this oratory was the church.

The right side of this oratory deserves particular attention and in particular the traces of the ancient Romanesque structure brought to light by the restorations: a small entrance door walled up and surmounted by a lunette, hanging arches decorated with heads of cows and goats, two threaded single-lancet windows that lighten the compactness of the masonry.
The interior has neoclassical ornaments and, on the back wall, stucco statues of the second half of the eighteenth century depicting with beautiful fidelity the Blessed Angelo Porro and San Filippo Benizzi, wearing the austere black habit of the Servites.
The baroque altar encloses a lunette from around 1350: in the centre is the Madonna and Child, flanked on the right by Saint John the Baptist and on the left by a saint identified as Saint Catherine of Alexandria. The fresco has been admired by more than one scholar. Giuseppe Martinola underlined "the vivacity of the colour, the refinement of the hands, the content of the Child's naturalism"; Carla Travi praised "the particular technique of thin and dense hatching with which the freshness gives volume and luminosity to the figures"; Piero Bianconi liked Saint Catherine, who "raises with lively fervor the youthful and full face, delicately painted in pink and framed with blond and thick hair".
As for the author, in 1971 Michele Boskovits assigned the work to Giovanni da Milano, an attribution that critics have shared since then. The artist, a great pupil of Giotto's, painted among other things the frescoes with the stories of the Virgin preserved in the Florentine Church of Santa Croce.

dim. 29°C

Oratoire de la Madonna delle Grazie

Lorsque le musée d'art actuel abritait l'hospice pour les pauvres et les malades, cet oratoire était l'église.

Le côté droit de cet oratoire mérite une attention particulière et en particulier les traces de l'ancienne structure romane mise au jour par les restaurations : une petite porte d'entrée murée et surmontée d'une lunette, des arcs suspendus ornés de têtes de vaches et de chèvres, deux fenêtres monolithiques à fils qui allégent la compacité de la maçonnerie.
L'intérieur est orné d'ornements néoclassiques et, sur le mur du fond, de statues en stuc de la seconde moitié du XVIIIe siècle représentant avec une belle fidélité les bienheureux Angelo Porro et San Filippo Benizzi, portant l'austère habit noir des Servites.
L'autel baroque renferme une lunette datant d'environ 1350 : au centre, la Vierge à l'Enfant, flanquée à droite par Saint Jean-Baptiste et à gauche par une sainte identifiée comme Sainte Catherine d'Alexandrie. La fresque a été admirée par plus d'un érudit. Giuseppe Martinola a souligné "la vivacité de la couleur, le raffinement des mains, le contenu du naturalisme de l'enfant" ; Carla Travi a loué "la technique particulière de l'éclosion fine et dense avec laquelle la fraîcheur donne volume et luminosité aux figures" ; Piero Bianconi a aimé Sainte Catherine, qui "élève avec ferveur le visage jeune et plein, peint en rose et encadré de cheveux blonds et épais".
Quant à l'auteur, en 1971, Michele Boskovits a confié l'œuvre à Giovanni da Milano, une attribution que les critiques partagent depuis lors. L'artiste, grand élève de Giotto, a peint entre autres les fresques avec les histoires de la Vierge conservées dans l'église florentine de Santa Croce.