Mon 18°C

Ancona

The Historical Processions Foundation of Mendrisio has been following for some years the important project of restoration of Ancona dell'Addolorata, an imposing false altar, realized in 1794 by Giovanni Battista Bagutti of Rovio for the pictorial part, and by Giovanni Battista Brenni of Salorino, for the architectural part. The Ancona depicts, in perspective, a chapel decorated with angels and cherubs, with a niche in the middle, in which the Madonna Addolorata is exhibited during the Septenary and Holy Week.

This very scenographic scaffolding, artfully designed to be placed on the high altar of the church of San Giovanni in Mendrisio, was used until 1994, when the church underwent major restoration work. Ancona dell'Addolorata in Mendrisio is one of the few churches saved from destruction during the years of the secularisation of the convents in Switzerland, where many works of this type were burned.

It is therefore extremely important to restore this important Ancona, both to recover a key element in the cultural heritage of the transparent, and to give back to the church of San Giovanni that scenic structure that makes it absolutely unique in the Easter period.

So 29°C

Ancona

Die Stiftung Historische Prozessionen von Mendrisio verfolgt seit einigen Jahren das wichtige Projekt der Restaurierung der Ancona dell'Addolorata, eines imposanten falschen Altars, der 1794 von Giovanni Battista Bagutti aus Rovio für den malerischen Teil und von Giovanni Battista Brenni aus Salorino für den architektonischen Teil realisiert wurde. Die Ancona zeigt perspektivisch eine mit Engeln und Cherubim verzierte Kapelle mit einer Nische in der Mitte, in der die Madonna Addolorata während der Septenar- und Karwoche ausgestellt ist.

Dieses sehr szenografische Gerüst, das kunstvoll auf dem Hochaltar der Kirche San Giovanni in Mendrisio aufgestellt werden sollte, wurde bis 1994 genutzt, als die Kirche einer größeren Restaurierung unterzogen wurde. Die Ancona dell'Addolorata in Mendrisio ist eine der wenigen Kirchen, die in den Jahren der Säkularisierung der Klöster in der Schweiz vor der Zerstörung bewahrt wurden, wo viele dieser Werke verbrannt wurden.

Es ist daher äußerst wichtig, dieses wichtige Ancona wiederherzustellen, sowohl um ein Schlüsselelement des kulturellen Erbes des Transparenten wiederherzustellen, als auch um der Kirche San Giovanni jene malerische Struktur zurückzugeben, die sie in der Osterzeit absolut einzigartig macht.