Ancona



April 2022 marked the completion of the major restoration of the large and spectacular structure of the so-called Ancona, now once again installed, as a complement to the marble high altar, in the church of San Giovanni Battista in Mendrisio's old town. The Historical Processions Foundation followed the project for several years.

The Ancona of Our Lady of Sorrows is an imposing altarpiece, created in 1794 by the painter Giovanni Battista Bagutti from Rovio (1742-1823) for the pictorial part, and by the quadraturist Giovanni Battista Brenni from Salorino (1730-1804) for the architectural part. The Ancona depicts, in perspective, a chapel decorated with angels and cherubs, with a niche in the centre, in which Our Lady of Sorrows is displayed during the Septenary and Holy Week.

This highly scenic scaffolding, artfully designed to be placed on the high altar of the church of San Giovanni in Mendrisio, was used until 1994, when the church underwent major restoration work. The Ancona of Our Lady of Sorrows in Mendrisio is one of the few to have been saved from destruction during the years of secularisation of the monasteries in Switzerland, when many such works were burnt.

The restoration of this important altarpiece was therefore extremely important, both to recover a key element of the cultural heritage of the Trasparenti and to give the church of San Giovanni the scenic setting that makes it so unique at Easter.

As tradition dictates, it is mounted on the high altar of the church of San Giovanni Battista in the days leading up to Holy Week, when the Septenary of Our Lady of Sorrows is celebrated, until the week following Easter, and houses at its centre the statue, a wooden mannequin to be exact, of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Sorrows, with her heart and seven golden swords on her chest, clad in a black velvet robe sumptuously embroidered in gold.

It is an altarpiece of late Baroque and neoclassical style, with a strong scenographic impact that is unique in the historical-artistic panorama of the Canton of Ticino.

Ancona



Im April 2022 wurde die umfassende Restaurierung der großen und spektakulären Struktur des so genannten Ancona abgeschlossen, die nun wieder als Ergänzung zum Hochaltar aus Marmor in der Kirche San Giovanni Battista im historischen Zentrum von Mendrisio aufgestellt ist. Die Stiftung Historische Prozessionen hat das Projekt mehrere Jahre lang verfolgt.

Die Ancona der Schmerzensmutter ist ein imposantes Altarbild, das 1794 von dem Maler Giovanni Battista Bagutti aus Rovio (1742-1823) für den bildlichen Teil und von dem Quadraturisten Giovanni Battista Brenni aus Salorino (1730-1804) für den architektonischen Teil geschaffen wurde. Die Ancona stellt perspektivisch eine mit Engeln und Putten geschmückte Kapelle dar, in deren Mitte sich eine Nische befindet, in der die Schmerzensmutter während des Septenariums und der Karwoche dargestellt wird.

Dieses kunstvoll gestaltete Gerüst, das auf dem Hochaltar der Kirche San Giovanni in Mendrisio aufgestellt werden sollte, wurde bis 1994 verwendet, als die Kirche einer umfassenden Restaurierung unterzogen wurde. Die Ancona der Schmerzensmutter in Mendrisio ist eine der wenigen, die in den Jahren der Säkularisierung der Klöster in der Schweiz vor der Zerstörung bewahrt wurden, als viele solcher Werke verbrannt wurden.

Die Restaurierung dieses bedeutenden Altaraufsatzes war daher äußerst wichtig, um einerseits ein Schlüsselelement des kulturellen Erbes der Trasparenti wiederherzustellen und andererseits der Kirche San Giovanni den landschaftlichen Rahmen zu geben, der sie zu Ostern so einzigartig macht.

Wie es die Tradition vorschreibt, wird sie in den Tagen vor der Karwoche, in der das Siebenjahrfest der Schmerzensmutter gefeiert wird, bis zur Woche nach Ostern auf dem Hochaltar der Kirche San Giovanni Battista aufgestellt und beherbergt in ihrer Mitte die Statue der Schmerzensmutter, genauer gesagt eine Holzpuppe, mit einem Herz und sieben goldenen Schwertern auf der Brust, gekleidet in ein schwarzes, goldbesticktes Samtgewand.

Es handelt sich um ein Altarbild im spätbarocken und neoklassizistischen Stil mit einer starken szenografischen Wirkung, die im historisch-künstlerischen Panorama des Kantons Tessin einzigartig ist.