Mon 18°C

UNESCO candidature

Since 22.10.2014, the Processions of Holy Week in Mendrisio have been on the official list of candidates for recognition as a UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage, as officially announced by the Federal Council, which has approved an indicative list of eight Swiss traditions.
These will then be proposed to the UNESCO commission for inclusion in the representative list of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity in Switzerland.

The system for evaluating the individual dossiers of the eight official candidates will now have to follow the procedure that provides for the submission of an annual application for the attention of UNESCO experts.
The details of the order in which the candidates are to be presented are not yet available.

The inclusion by the federal authorities of the Easter event of Mendrisio, strongly linked to the tradition of the people of Mendrisio and the region, clearly boosts the pride of the Historical Processions Foundation, which has always been involved, with the competent municipal and cantonal offices, in the evaluation procedure.

The Historical Processions Foundation hopes that the many efforts made by many people to organise these events will be rewarded with such a prestigious international award. It would also like to underline that the specific peculiarity of the presence of Transparency is in fact the element that distinguishes these parades from the countless that take place all over the world on the occasion of Easter.

Sa 7°C

UNESCO-Kandidatur

Seit dem 22.10.2014 stehen die Karwochenprozessionen in Mendrisio auf der offiziellen Liste der Kandidaten für die Anerkennung als UNESCO-Immaterielles Kulturerbe, wie der Bundesrat offiziell bekannt gab, der eine vorläufige Liste von acht Schweizer Traditionen verabschiedet hat.
Diese werden anschliessend der UNESCO-Kommission zur Aufnahme in die Liste des immateriellen Kulturerbes der Menschheit in der Schweiz vorgeschlagen.

Das System zur Bewertung der einzelnen Dossiers der acht offiziellen Kandidaten muss nun dem Verfahren folgen, das die Einreichung eines jährlichen Antrags zu Händen von UNESCO-Experten vorsieht.
Die Einzelheiten der Reihenfolge, in der die Kandidaten präsentiert werden sollen, sind noch nicht bekannt.

Die Einbeziehung der Osterveranstaltung von Mendrisio durch die Bundesbehörden, die eng mit der Tradition der Menschen von Mendrisio und der Region verbunden ist, stärkt den Stolz der Stiftung Historische Prozessionen, die seit jeher mit den zuständigen Gemeinde- und Kantonsämtern am Bewertungsverfahren beteiligt ist.

Die Stiftung Historische Prozessionen hofft, dass die vielen Bemühungen vieler Menschen, diese Veranstaltungen zu organisieren, mit einer so renommierten internationalen Auszeichnung belohnt werden, und möchte auch betonen, dass die besondere Eigenart der Präsenz der Transparenz in der Tat das Element ist, das diese Paraden von den unzähligen Paraden unterscheidet, die anlässlich des Osterfestes auf der ganzen Welt stattfinden.