History


Almost certainly the Mendrisio Holy Week Processions, like all the others, are older than their first mention at the beginning of the 17th century.

The Thursday procession is a popular sacred representation, in which the 20 or so groups or characters do not recite a text, but parade along the streets of the village, simulating the route to Calvary. The only ones to express themselves are the Jews, who shout invectives and the death sentence of Christ, so the procession is known as Funziun di Giüdee. For at least three centuries it was organised by the confraternity of the Sacrament.

The solemn Friday procession is an extension of the rite of Christ's burial and was therefore originally run by clergymen. With the submission of neighbouring Lombardy to Spain in the 16th century, the tradition of calling it Entierro spread. It represents the nocturnal burial of Christ, usually accompanied by the grieving Mother. In Mendrisio, it seems that the statue was only inserted into and after the return of the Servants of Mary to the convent of San Giovanni in 1644. It is certain that from this date onwards, they were the ones who managed it, sometimes in conflict with the parish priest, until the suppression of the Mendrisio convent and almost all Ticino convents in 1852.

In addition to the two evening events, other traditions of Holy Week have been preserved in Mendrisio.

Sepulchres, which have been widespread throughout the Mediterranean area for at least a thousand years, are more or less rich or complex stagings of the catafalque for the dead Christ, assiduously visited by devotees. In Mendrisio, until the restoration work completed in 2014, a theatrical scene was set up in the church of Santa Maria nascente in the village.

Much rarer and therefore exceptional, but very popular with the people of Mendrisio, is the Septenary in the Church of San Giovanni, formerly belonging to the Servants of Mary. This is an evening service dedicated to one of Mary's Seven Sorrows, with special prayers and the singing of the Stabat Mater (attributed to Jacopone da Todi) in the form of an antiphon. To music of unknown origin, the men take it in turns to sing one verse in the church choir and the women respond from the nave with the next.

Unfortunately, the large and impressive temporary altar in the Church of St John (painted by Bagutti around 1775), where the statue of Our Lady of Sorrows used to be placed, is no longer in place. Now it is taken out of its niche in the apse, dressed in its festive costume (from the beginning of the 19th century, restored) and placed on a table decorated with paintings with its rich golden stretcher (around 1780) until shortly before the procession.

In the last decade of the 19th century, the socio-economic circumstances of the canton finally allowed for a considerable investment in the restoration and renewal of the processions. On that occasion, the newly founded committee, which still runs the whole organisation today, decided to fix the year 1898 as the first centenary of the reorganisation because one of the few historical documents still preserved mentions the landfogto [landvogt], i.e. the Helvetic governor of the Italophone provinces who was in charge of the district from the 16th century until 1798.

Geschichte


Mit ziemlicher Sicherheit sind die Prozessionen der Karwoche von Mendrisio, wie alle anderen auch, älter als ihre erste Erwähnung zu Beginn des 17. Jahrhunderts.

Die Donnerstags-Prozession ist eine volkstümliche sakrale Darstellung, bei der die etwa 20 Gruppen oder Figuren keinen Text rezitieren, sondern durch die Straßen des Dorfes ziehen und den Weg zum Kalvarienberg simulieren. Die einzigen, die sich zu Wort melden, sind die Juden, die Schimpfwörter und das Todesurteil über Christus rufen, weshalb die Prozession auch als Funziun di Giüdee bekannt ist. Mindestens drei Jahrhunderte lang wurde es von der Brotherhood of the Sacrament organisiert.

Die feierliche Freitags-Prozession ist eine Erweiterung des Ritus der Grablegung Christi und wurde daher ursprünglich von Geistlichen durchgeführt. Mit der Unterwerfung der benachbarten Lombardei unter Spanien im 16. Jahrhundert verbreitete sich die Tradition, sie Entierro zu nennen. In Mendrisio scheint es, dass die Statue erst nach der Rückkehr der Dienerinnen Mariens in das Kloster San Giovanni im Jahr 1644 eingefügt wurde. Es ist sicher, dass sie es von diesem Zeitpunkt an bis zur Aufhebung des Klosters Mendrisio und fast aller Tessiner Klöster im Jahr 1852 leiteten, manchmal im Konflikt mit dem Gemeindepfarrer.

Neben den beiden Abendveranstaltungen haben sich in Mendrisio weitere Traditionen der Karwoche erhalten.

Grabstätten, die seit mindestens tausend Jahren im gesamten Mittelmeerraum verbreitet sind, sind mehr oder weniger reiche oder komplexe Inszenierungen des Katafalkes für den toten Christus, die von den Gläubigen eifrig besucht werden. In Mendrisio wurde bis zum Abschluss der Restaurierungsarbeiten im Jahr 2014 eine Theaterszene in der Kirche Santa Maria nascente im Dorf aufgebaut.

Viel seltener und deshalb aussergewöhnlich, aber bei den Einwohnern von Mendrisio sehr beliebt, ist das Septenariumsfest in der Kirche San Giovanni, die früher den Dienerinnen Mariens gehörte: ein Abendgottesdienst, der einem der sieben Schmerzen Mariens gewidmet ist, mit besonderen Gebeten und dem Gesang des Stabat Mater (Jacopone da Todi zugeschrieben) in Form einer Antiphon. Zu Musik unbekannter Herkunft singen die Männer im Kirchenchor abwechselnd eine Strophe, und die Frauen antworten vom Kirchenschiff aus mit der nächsten.

Leider ist der große und eindrucksvolle Behelfsaltar in der Johanneskirche (von Bagutti um 1775 gemalt), auf dem die Statue der Schmerzensmutter stand, nicht mehr an seinem Platz, sondern wird bis kurz vor der Prozession aus seiner Nische in der Apsis herausgenommen, in sein festliches Gewand (vom Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts, restauriert) gekleidet und auf einen mit Gemälden geschmückten Tisch mit seinem reichen goldenen Läufer (um 1780) gestellt.

Im letzten Jahrzehnt des 19. Jahrhunderts erlaubten die sozioökonomischen Verhältnisse des Kantons schliesslich eine beträchtliche Investition in die Restaurierung und Erneuerung der Prozessionen. Bei dieser Gelegenheit beschloss das neu gegründete Komitee, das auch heute noch die gesamte Organisation leitet, das Jahr 1898 als erstes Hundertjahr-Jubiläum der Neuorganisation festzulegen, da eines der wenigen noch erhaltenen historischen Dokumente den landfogto [landvogt] erwähnt, d.h. den helvetischen Statthalter der italophonen Provinzen, der vom 16. Jahrhundert bis 1798 für den Bezirk zuständig war.